Note: This website is not updated anymore and may contain outdated information. The new website is at

Five CS Faculty Members are Recipients of NSERC Discovery Grants (Expired)

Minister Goodale, representing the Government of Canada, and Dr. Charest, VP NSERC, were at the University of Regina on Friday September 8 to announce the recipients of NSERC Discovery Grants in the most recent competition. Dr. Malloy, VP Research made the formal announcement, with Minister Goodale and Dr. Charest each speaking about the value of research and the importance of research funding.  Dr. Orland Hoeber spoke on behalf of all grant recipients.


The Department of Computer Science did exceptionally well; five faculty members applied for these grants, and all were funded. Our recipients are Drs. Cory Butz, Orland Hoeber, JingTao Yao, Yiyu Yao, and Sandra Zilles.


More information on the announcement is provided on the University of Regina website:

Breaking News

Recent News

Do You Have News for the Department of Computer Science?

  • Please send a plain text version of your posting, which can include URL links, to
To Top of Page